The Club Championships Winners
In 1983 an honours board was erected in the pavilion; prior to that accurate records do not exist.
Past Winners since 1983:

YearMens SinglesLadies SinglesMens DoublesLadies DoublesMixed Doubles
1983David CutbillEmmaScarsbrookT Taylor G StoneA Fox E ScarsbrookT Stone G Smith
1984David CutbillFiona SwanD Cutbill G WrightF Swan E SCarsbookJWillsonEScarsbrook
1985David CutbillTracy WillsonD Cutbill C AllnattG Crickmay H SmithL Owen T Willson
1986Gerard WrightTracy WillsonJ Willson L OwenF Swan A CraigS Chesher T Willson
1987Jamie WillsonTracy GouldL Owen S ChesherYKlynman DHandelaarS Chesher T Gould
1988John PhilipsYvonne KlynmanPHammond JPhilipsYKlynman CHammondS Chesher T Gould
1989John PhilipsClaire HammondPHammond JPhilipsT Gould S RodriguesP & C Hammond
1990Andy BaconElizabeth GardnerSCockell PHammondT Gould S RodriguesS & T Chesher
1991JustinTredwellElizabeth GardnerS Chesher L OwenE Gardner T LevyS & T Chesher
1992JustinTredwellElizabeth GardnerG Broadley J WillsonT Chesher C KitchinerS & T Chesher
1993JustinTredwellA JayaprakasamS Cockell J LeeN Bell C KitchinerS Chesher J Potter
1994JustinTredwellElizabeth GardnerG Broadley S ChesherE Gardner T LevyJ Lee C Hammond
1995Nick PlappertClaire HammondL Owen J PhilipsT Chesher N BellJ Philips C Hammond
1996Rich’d BarhamClaire HammondRBarham JHandelaarSCockell CHammerman 
1997Rich’d BarhamTracy ChesherSChesher NPlappertT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
1998SimonChesherGemma GarveyR Barham J HandelaarT Chesher D GouldS & T Chesher
1999SimonBonhamVal IrvineR Barham M BertolaV Irvine G GarveyS Bonham V Irvine
2000SimonBonhamAmy CockellR Barham M BertolaT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2001SimonBonhamAnna BurtonS Bonham L OwenT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2002SimonBonham S Bonham L OwenT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2003SimonBonham S Bonham L OwenT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2004SimonBonham S Bonham L OwenT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2005SimonBonham S Bonham L OwenT Chesher F StoneS & T Chesher
2006Matt PearceJasmin YoungS Chesher J WesternS Hookway F WattsJ Western F Watts
2007Matt PearceFaye WattsS Chesher J WesternS Hookway F WattsJWestern F Watts
2008Matt PearceFaye WattsS Bonham M PearceS Hookway F WattsJWestern F Watts
2009John WesternFaye WattsS Chesher J WesternS Hookway F WattsJWestern F Watts
2010John WesternFaye WattsS Chesher J WesternS Hookway F WattsNot Completed
2011John WesternFaye WattsS Chesher J WesternS Hookway F WattsI Hookway F Watts

Nostalgia time

In addition to those players detailed above the following players are remembered for having won titles for the club.

The mens team that won the National Club Championships in 1981 beating Queens Club in the final 3-1was David Lloyd & Ian Currie, and Tony Lloyd & Gerard Wright. So strong were we that we didn’t need our best player (John Lloyd) and in fact one of our other members (Malcolm Bryant) represented Queens in the final.

The mens team that won the Home Counties cup in 1972 was David Lloyd & Brian Watts, Keith Baker & Ashley Compton-Dando, John Chesher & Bob Hammond).

Numerous players have represented Essex at senior, junior and veterans levels. Those with full county colours (in addition to the Lloyd brothers and Ian Currie who represented England or Gt Britain) include: Claire Hammond, Sophie Cockell, John Innocent, Simon Bonham, John Philips and Richard Barham.

Other notable players who have represented the club with distinction include: Dennis Lloyd (who won the Southend and Club singles titles on numerous occasions), Andre Nadal, Mal Cameron, Anne & Mary Collins, Terry Taylor, Jamie Willson, Matt Pearce, and Simon & Tracy Chesher (who it should be noted have between them have won 50 titles in the club championships).

Other winners of club titles before 1983 not so far mentioned will have included: Phil Collins, Norah Foulds, Joan Woods, Peggy Nye, Jo Bailey, Marjory Vestey, Doris Lloyd and Jacqui Carter; Howard Stone, Cecil & Eric Austin, Derek Syme, Geoff Emmett, Ian Pitt, Bob Byrnes, Alan Daniels, Dave Rowe, Brian Anderson, Stephen Bradley, and Graham & Trevor Stone.

The Carter Cup

The Carter Cup is an annual event held for social players. It is an American style mixed doubles tournament that began in 1985. The prize was donated by Terry Carter, winner of the club men’s singles in the 1950s and later a Captain of the club.

The tradition is currently carried on by his widow Jacqui Carter, herself one of the past prominent club players.

In 2010 the event will take place on Saturday afternoon May 15th, organized by Alan Jones the current club captain.